Eating My Way Through

Didn’t I always want red walls in my kitchen? April 5, 2010

Filed under: Soups — Nikki Wegner @ 11:11 pm
Tags: , ,

Just as it’s starting to get warm in DC, I am going to post about soup, not exactly appropriate, but still yummy!

And funny. Since my first attempt at making tomato soup ended up in one of my funnier kitchen snafus. Unfortunately there aren’t any pictures of the disaster I made of the kitchen and myself, since this was pre-blog, but hopefully you will get the picture…

I love tomato soup, but finding a recipe that has lots of flavor, and isn’t a ton of work was surprisingly challenging. I just bought one of Ellie Krieger’s cookbooks and her recipe for Roasted Tomato Soup popped out at me. Everything was going great; kitchen smelled amazing, veggies were tasting delicious…and then I attempted to blend all the ingredients together.

My mom gave me an immersion blender for St. Nick’s and I was super excited to use it for the first time! Never mind that it was a Biggest Loser branded blender…Mom, were you trying to tell me something? Anyways, I went to go use it and it broke, spewing oil all over my hands and shirt, but luckily I saved the soup! Attempt #1 at blending=Fail.

Not to be discouraged I figured I could just use our normal blender. No big deal right? Well I made another epic fail, attempting to blend while the soup was still hot! Did you know heat breaks the seal on things? If you didn’t join the club. If you did, I am sure you know what happened next!

Just like out of a movie, soup started flying everywhere, the walls were covered, my pajamas were covered, cause who doesn’t make soup in their pjs right? My roommates were trying not to laugh at me as they sat on the couch watching. But I am sure I looked a hot mess.

Not to be deterred, I let the ingredients cool, then managed to successfully use the blender to finish the soup. Victory! And it ended up tasting great. So all the hilarity was worth it. Though I am still finding red splotches on tour kitchen’s white walls…

And just for fun, here is a recipe for French Onion Soup too! It is one of my favorites, and the combination of caramelized onions and Gruyere from Cowgirl Creamery, my favorite cheese shop in DC (cause every good Wisconsin girl has to find a cheese shop no matter where she is living) was delicious. This recipe is also low in carbs and calories, as I left out croutons/bread, but feel free to add.

Roasted Tomato Soup (adapted from Ellie Krieger’s So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week)

7 Tomatoes, quartered

1 large sweet onion, cut into large pieces

4 large garlic cloves

1 tsp salt

5 cups reduced-sodium chicken or vegetable broth

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp chili powder

2 Tbsp olive oil

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375°

In a large bowl, toss the tomatoes, onions and garlic with oil, salt and pepper

Spread out evenly on a rimmed baking sheet

Roast vegetables for about 40 minutes, stirring at the 20 minute mark

In a large saucepan, 4 quarts, combine vegetables, broth, nutmeg, remaining salt and pepper

Bring mixture to a boil, simmer for 10 minutes

Remove from heat

If using an immersion blender, feel free to blend right away, if using a standing blender, let cool before blending!

Garnish with your favorite toppings

French Onion Soup (adapted from Weight Watchers)

1 bulb garlic

5 medium onions

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup dry red wine

4 cups fat-free beef broth

2 tbsp Worcestershire  sauce

Gruyere

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350°

Wrap garlic bulb in foil, roast in oven for 45 minutes, let cool for 10 minutes

Remove foil, cut off top of the garlic bulb, and set aside cloves

While garlic is roasting, heat oil in very large skillet, add onions and start carmelizing

Stir onions occasionally until golden, about 45 minutes

Squeeze garlic cloves, adding pulp to onions, discard the skins

Stir onion and garlic mixture until fragrant, about 1 minute

In a large pot, about 4-quarts, combine onion and garlic mixture with broth, Worcestershire sauce and wine

Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover and let cook for 15 minutes

Top with cheese and serve

 

Leave a Reply

