Eating My Way Through

Cooking with Coconut milk April 16, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — Nikki Wegner @ 12:18 pm
Tags: ,

I love Thai food. To the point where ordering from Royal Thai, my roomies and my favorite place in Chinatown, is a regular occurrence. I usually switch off between two traditional dishes, Pad Thai and Pad See Ew, but one night I tried the Tom Kha Gai, a coconut milk based soup.

This got me thinking about cooking with coconut milk, and then I stumbled on a recipe for Thai Coconut rice with Pineapple. I had some shrimp in the freezer so I decided to try the rice, and serve it with some Lime and Garlic Shrimp. Turns out it is a great meal for a warm spring evening. Lots of citrus and sweetness with a bit of a kick.

There was a bit of an oops, I must admit.  I used frozen jasmine rice from Trader Joe’s, which is normally a great time saver, instead of following the directions and using uncooked rice. I recommend the latter, and just follow the directions.  It still turned out yummy, but I learned my lesson. Sometimes shortcuts aren’t always the best call!

To start, I added all the ingredients to the coconut milk, to boil all the flavors together.

Coconut Broth

Swapping in light coconut milk for the regular in any recipe that calls for it is a great way to cut down on calories. You still get the same rich, sweet flavor that you get with the regular stuff, so why not?

While the rice is cooking in the broth, cook the shrimp and chop all the ingredients to add to the rice.

The shrimp is super easy, all you need is a few garlic cloves, some shrimp and the juice of 1 lime.

Simmering Shrimp

The Toppings

Once the rice is cooked, add the toppings to the pot. Don’t stir, just let them sit on top. Cover, and let stand for another 5 minutes so all the flavors seep together.

Almost there...

Stir it all up, and it is ready to eat!

I was surprised how easy this was to make! New ingredients sometimes intimidate me, but coconut milk is one I will now use all the time! If you are not a shrimp lover, I would definitely try adding chicken or tofu instead, I am sure it will still be yummy!

Lime and Garlic Shrimp

1 lb shrimp (can be frozen and then defrosted, or fresh!)

Juice of 1 lime

2 garlic cloves

Directions:

Toss the lime juice and garlic in a skillet

Heat juice and garlic until simmering

Reduce heat

Add shrimp

Cook until shrimp turns bright and pink

Yields 4 servings

Thai Coconut and Pineapple Rice (adapted from Weight Watchers)

1 cup light coconut milk

1 cup water

2 tsp ginger root, minced

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup uncooked jasmine rice

1 cup pineapple, fresh and diced

1/2 cup scallions, chopped

1/4 tbsp mint, fresh and chopped

1/2 medium lime, cut into wedges

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine the milk, water, ginger and salt

Bring to a boil over medium-high heat

Add in rice, stir, reduce heat

Cover, and simmer until liquid is absorbed, about 20 minutes

Remove from heat

Add pineapple, scallions, mint and Lime and Garlic Shrimp (DO NOT STIR)

Cover, let stand for 5 minutes

Stir everything together, place in bowls, and garnish with lime to squeeze over the rice

Yields 4 generous, 1 cup servings

 

3 Responses to “Cooking with Coconut milk”

  1. jen Says:

    you are so cute! will you make this for me? with guac preferably…

    • Nikki Wegner Says:

      Of course! Maybe tofu instead? Don’t worry, a post about guacamole is in the queue and I will invite you over to be the taste tester!


Leave a Reply

