Eating My Way Through

Cookies! April 19, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Treats — Nikki Wegner @ 3:09 pm
Tags:

For as long as I can remember I’ve been baking chocolate chip cookies with my mom. It was something we would always do together, and at our house the cookie jar was never empty, so we made them a lot!

And it is also something among my friends and co-workers that I am kind of known for. My friends growing up basically demanded chocolate chip cookies upon entering my parents’ house, and I love bringing them to work for special occasions/just for fun. Our work environment can be pretty stressful, and I have found chocolate chip cookies really make people smile/brighten a day.

The recipe isn’t anything fancy, just the one on the back of the Nestle Toll House bag, but with one very important change…

Not that this is a huge secret, I am sure lots of people make this substitution, but I think it really makes the cookies fluffy and chewier. And who doesn’t love that!

So the secret is….Crisco (or vegetable shortening)  instead of butter. We substitute 1 cup of Crisco for the butter in the recipe, that’s it. Not sure if it makes them any healthier, probably doesn’t, but I feel that chocolate chip cookies are one thing you can splurge on.

Yesterday, to mix things up, I decided to use the recipe for chocolate chip cookie dough but substitute in butterscotch chips and oatmeal. My favorite cupcake place/coffee shop, Baked & Wired, makes fabulous Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies so I thought I would give it a shot.

After getting the batter ready, I added 1 bag of butterscotch chips and about 1 1/2 cups of old-fashioned oats.

Ready to be mixed

Ready to be mixed

The dough ended up a bit heavier than normal, due to the oatmeal, but with a little bit extra mixing it came together well. You can always add a little bit of water, slowly, if you think the batter is too dry.

I plopped them on greased baking sheets….

Cookies on baking sheet

Ready to bake...

And voila….

Baked Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies!

Yum!

This is definitely a recipe I will add into the cookie rotation when I am feeling the urge to bake. What I love about the combo is you get some of that sweet and salty combo, between the oatmeal and butterscotch, which is something I always love.

For those of you who just want to make chocolate chip cookies, just substitute the oatmeal and butterscotch for 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate morsels!

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies (adapted from Nestle Toll House)

2 1/4 all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup Crisco (or other brand vegetable shortening)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 package butterscotch chips

1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

Cooking spray

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375°

Spray 2 baking pans with cooking spray, set aside

In a small-medium mixing bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside

In a large mixing bowl, combine Crisco, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla

Mix together

Add eggs one at a time, stirring in between and mixing well

Slowly add flour mixture, stirring as you go until batter is smooth

Add in oatmeal and butterscotch chips and stir well until everything is combined

Spoon onto baking sheet; make sure to spread the cookies out in case they expand

Bake 10-12 minutes depending on your oven

Remove from baking sheet and cool

Yields approximately 48 cookies

 

Leave a Reply

