Eating My Way Through

Easy Pita Pizza May 3, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — Nikki Wegner @ 4:01 pm
Tags: ,

After my  Mediterranean extravaganza last week, I had some pita bread left over. And rather than just using it to make sandwiches for lunch, I wanted to try something I hadn’t before, making pizza using the pita bread as the crust.

Now I am a true pizza lover and have a tendency to just keep eating it when it is in front of me. The first time I ever met the guy my friend is dating I devoured three huge NY style slices, leaving quite an impression on him! But the yummy sauce, the gooey cheese, yikes. It is bad news for me, so I am always looking for versions that are lighter and healthier. And it turns out, these pita pizzas are the healthiest, easiest kind of pizza I’ve made in a while!

All you do is top the pita bread with a  little olive oil cooking spray, whatever pasta sauce you have in your kitchen, some cheese and garlic.

Pita bread pizza

Pita bread pizza ready for the oven

Broil in the oven, and once the pita is crisp and the cheese is melted, remove from the oven and sprinkle with basil.

Finished Pita Piza

Ready to eat!

Voila, healthy homemade pizza. Just be careful to watch closely while it’s in the oven, the pita can crisp up fast and you might have a burned mess on your hands if you don’t pay attention!

I used some fresh mozzarella and basil as my toppings, but you can use whatever cheese and toppings you have on hand and I’m sure it will be great.

Pita Pizzas (own recipe)

1 pita pocket

1 garlic clove, chopped

Olive Oil cooking spray

1/4 cup tomato sauce

1 oz mozzarella, fresh and sliced

2 tbsp basil, fresh and chopped

Directions:

Pre-heat your broiler

Separate the pita pocket into two halves

Spray each half with olive oil cooking spray

Chop garlic and separate between the two halves

Top each pita with sauce and cheese

Place on a perforated pizza pan and broil until pita is crisp and cheese is melted, about 5-6 minutes

Top with chopped basil

Yields 1 serving

 

One Response to “Easy Pita Pizza”

  1. Jess Says:

    Pita pizzas are the BEST EVER!! We used to make them at camp- no joke- over a camp fire. It’s the best thing ever. I will definitely be trying this 🙂


Leave a Reply

