Eating My Way Through

Scallop and Green Bean Stir-Fry June 2, 2010

Filed under: Dinner,Veggies — Nikki Wegner @ 11:35 pm
Tags: ,

Before I launch into the next post, one quick note. Political season has started in earnest, and as my life is now left to the whims of clients and congressional races, my posts might not be as frequent, however, I promise to try to post at least twice a week! So get excited. 

Now for the yummy stuff. Seafood, as long as it’s not served with lots of butter or a heavy sauce, is always a pretty healthy choice when dining out. I personally love ordering scallops when I am out to dinner, partly because I have always been afraid to attempt them at home. See, scallops have to be cooked pretty perfectly, otherwise there is a good chance they will be pretty chewy and not very tasty. 

Getting over my fear, I decided to make my first attempt at scallops. I picked an easy recipe that involved simply pan-cooking the scallops for my first experiment, and I am happy to report it was a success. Next time I might have to be more daring. 

The recipe is Seared Scallops with Green Beans over Brown Rice, so a bit of a fancier stir-fry. The recipe I based this on originally called for snap peas, but Trader Joe’s was out when I went, and I figured green beans were a fine substitute. 

You start by heating olive oil in a large pan for 1 min, then add the scallops. 

Scallops

Scallops

 

Let them cook for about 2-3 minutes, then flip them over. Cook another 2-3 minutes until both sides are browned. 

Seared Scallops

Seared Scallops

 

Season with salt and transfer to a plate. Cover with paper towel to keep warm. 

Return pan to heat, to cook the sauce and green beans. 

Green Beans & Sauce

Green Beans & Sauce

Add the lime juice, chili sauce and return the scallops to heat through. 

While you are cooking everything, microwave some frozen brown rice to serve with the stir-fry. 

Once the stir-fry is finished, divide and plate with the rice! 

Scallop and Green Bean Stir-Fry

Scallop and Green Bean Stir-Fry

This is a great quick and easy stir fry dish. Next time I might try serving with rice noodles or another grain. Just to mix it up. 

Scallop and Green Bean Stir-Fry (adapted from Everyday Food

1 tbsp olive oil 

1 lb sea scallops (side muscle removed if fresh) 

Kosher salt 

1 small onion, cut into 1/4 inch pieces 

2 cloves garlic 

1 1/2 tsp ginger 

1 tbsp soy sauce, reduced-sodium 

1/2 lb green beans, trimmed 

2 tbsp lime juice, fresh 

1/2 tsp Asian chili-garlic sauce 

4 servings frozen brown rice 

Directions: 

Heat oil in skillet for 1 min, swirling to cover pan 

Add scallops, cook 2-3 mins on each side, until scallops are browned 

Salt and transfer to plat, cover with paper towel to keep warm 

Reduce heat to medium, and return pan 

Add in onions and garlic, cooking for 2 minutes or until browned 

Add ginger, soy sauce, 2 tbsp water and green beans, cooking 5 minutes or until beans are tender 

Add lime juice, chili sauce, and scallops, cooking for 1 minute; remove from heat 

Cook frozen brown rice in microwave according to package directions 

Divide among plates, serve 

Yields 4 servings

 

Leave a Reply

