Eating My Way Through

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble June 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nikki Wegner @ 1:55 pm
Tags:

Growing up we had rhubarb that randomly grew in the middle of our backyard. No one in our family ever planted it, so who knows how it even got there in the first place. My mom loved it, as she like me, loves to bake. But my dad, he had a long running hatred for it.

As soon as it grew, he was plotting its demise…and it took him a few years to finally kill it off. He used to pay me to mow our lawn, and I would get a little bonus if I “accidentally” mowed down the rhubarb too. Since I was young and naive, I had no idea how yummy rhubarb could be when cooked right and prepared with sweeter fruits, so I of course listened to my dad and pocketed the extra cash.

Today though I am happy to announce my dad’s personal dislike of rhubarb never rubbed off. I love rhubarb in pies, jams and other tasty treats. And the other night I was making dinner with a friend, and she asked if we could try to make a non-dairy dessert. So I decided to go with my trusty Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble!

This recipe is a snap and can be baking in the oven as you eat dinner, so when you are all done, it is warm and ready to serve.

All you do is chop up some rhubarb and strawberries, add some lemon juice, flour, sugar and a bit of cinnamon and combine in a large bowl.

Rhubarb and Strawberries

Rhubarb and Strawberries

Pour the mixture into an 8-inch square pan.

In a food processor, combine the crumble ingredients: flour, sugar, brown sugar and butter (or a vegan  substitute like Smart Balance), and pulse for a about 20 seconds until it is mixed and clumpy.

Crumble Topping

Crumble Topping

Spread the crumble topping over the strawberry-rhubarb mixture in the pan. Pop in the oven and bake at 375° or until the top is golden brown.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

When serving, it is easiest to place in bowls because without any sort of crust it could get pretty messy!

But that doesn’t make it any less scrumptious!

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

Filling

3 cups rhubarb stalks, diced into 1/2 inch pieces

1 quart strawberries, cut into quarters

1 tbsp lemon juice, fresh

1 tbsp water

1 tbsp, flour

1 tsp cinnamon

Crumble

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup butter (or substitute)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375° and grease with cooking spray an 8-inch square pan

Chop rhubarb and strawberries and put in a large mixing bowl

Add in lemon juice, water, flour and cinnamon, mix to combine

Spoon mixture into pan

In a food processor combine crumble ingredients, pulse a few times until clumpy and combined

Spread topping evenly over strawberry-rhubarb mixture

Bake in oven for 40 minutes, or until browned

Yields 8 servings

 

Leave a Reply

