Eating My Way Through

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins September 1, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast — Nikki Wegner @ 1:38 pm

On Sunday I literally spent an hour trying to find a healthy Banana bread or muffin recipe so I could use up the over-ripe bananas languishing on my counter. After some searching and digging and not finding the perfect concoction, I decided to combine various recipes, using them as a guide for creating my own.

Now I love to bake, and am usually pretty successful when I follow a recipe exactly. However, I have never been one to come up with and try out my own recipes. So this was a bit of an experiment! I also decided to throw in some chocolate chips at the end, because who doesn’t love a little chocolate, especially with breakfast.

To start I mashed up some bananas.

Mashed Bananas

Mashed Bananas

Then I combined the rest of the ingredients, minus the chocolate chips!

To make these a bit healthier, I used half regular all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour. I also substituted unsweetened apple sauce for oil, cutting the fat and calorie content way down. I have noticed in a lot of lower fat baking recipes that applesauce is used as a substitute for oil or butter. Until now I was afraid to give it a shot, but this might have made me a convert.

Then you add in some sugar, 1 egg, vanilla, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

Batter Ingredients

Batter Ingredients

Mix all of these together, and then toss in some chocolate chips to finish off the batter.

Batter

Batter

All you have to do now is spoon the batter into a muffin tin. If you plan on serving them right away or using them up within a week you can simply grease the tins. I actually used baking cups because I was planning on freezing a good portion of the muffins to take for breakfast over the next few weeks. To pour the batter, I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop the batter, which ended up being the perfect amount of batter and saved me the usual mess I make trying to use a mixing spoon.

Muffins ready to bake!

Muffins ready to bake!

Put the muffins in the oven, and let bake for about 15 minutes at 350° and then…voila!

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

So it seems my first attempt at recipe creation was a success! This muffins turned out to be nicely balanced, with the flavors of the banana and chocolate, and didn’t have too much of a wheaty taste from the flour mixture. I can definitely see using this batter as a base for other kinds of muffins, maybe adding in some bran and fig, or traditional blueberry muffins. They also freeze nicely if you want to whip up a batch on a weekend and slowly make your way through them!

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins (own recipe)

3-4 bananas, mashed

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole-wheat flour

4 tbsps unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350°

Mash bananas in a large bowl

Add in all remaining ingredients, except chocolate chips, and stir until well mixed

Add in chocolate chips until combined

Pour batter into muffin tins, greased or lined with baking cups

Bake for 15 minutes or until tops are nice and crisp

Yields 12 servings

 

Leave a Reply

